They’re All Going To Laugh At You.

Okay, so fine, here it is. After years of people riding me raw about starting a blog, I’m just going to go for it.

First of all, I think “blog” is a stupid, hipster, made-up word, and the fact that Scrabble accepts it leads me to believe that The End of Days draws nigh, or at least I hope so. I didn’t even know what the word “blog” meant, other than it is both a verb and a noun, and makes me feel like a complete narcissist for having one/blogging.

Turns out, the term “blog” is a portmanteau….which is FANCY. It is a combination of two (or more) words or morphemes (more fancy words! AND it sounds like “morphine”, too) into one new word…in this case, “web log = blog”. So I have made a conscious decision to accept this without rancor and BLOG.

I was semi inspired this week by two things:

1. A discussion with my friends about what you wish you were doing in your 40’s. I wished I had chosen a path in life with a bit more creativity. Not that my artistic temperament is not deeply appreciated in the law office where I am currently employed, however.

2. I had the mother of all migraines on a Sunday (of course, on my day off…OF COURSE), took a whole mess of pills with several shots of coffee, and watched  “Julie & Julia” on E! because it hurt too much to bend over and look for the remote on the floor.  (By the way, what it wrong with Amy Adams’ HAIR in that movie???)

I am here.

NOW….what the hell do I write about?!

Leave a Reply

